Homemade Hummus

Delicious and Healthy Snack

1/2 pint mason jars make homemade hummus super easy to pack with lunch!

Hummus is one of the simplest things to make, and if you make it at home, it comes out as good or better than the store bought stuff. Not that there is anything wrong with buying hummus in the store. But I don’t eat it terribly often and I find that if I have a craving for hummus, I’d like to just make it rather than going to the store to buy it.  Plus, I think home made tastes better.

I just followed the recipe book that came with my Blendtec total blender.  I happen to have purchased the twister jar and used that to make the recipe, but I am sure it works just fine in the regular blender jar.

1 can of chick peas a/k/a garbanzo beans (reserving 1/3 cup of the water). (I rinsed and drained my beans)

2 Tbsp of olive oil

2 Tbsp organic tahini

2 Tbsp of fresh lemon juice (basically 1 lemon squeezed by hand)

1/2 tsp of sea salt (recipe calls for Kosher, so that is fine too)

1 clove of garlic, cut into 4 pieces

Hit the Sauces/Dip Button and twist away.

The Hummus is delicious and incredibly creamy.

I suggest having some pita handy to wipe out the inside of the blender, as it is a shame to rinse any of that gold down the drain.

You can store the hummus in two half-pint mason jars, or a single pint-sized mason jar, depending on what you have on hand. I prefer the wide-mouth jars, and the smaller ones at that, because they can be used as a serving/dipping bowl.

Leave a Reply

