Non-Stick Pancake Trick. 

I love pancakes! But, like anybody else, I am sometimes frustrated by Satan, who visits my kitchen on occasion to make my pancakes stick to the griddle. While I could count myself lucky that this is all he does, I have now banished him from my kitchen with nothing more than a potato. 

Get the iron hot. This may work with stainless too. I don’t know. I use low heat and let it run while I make the batter. It preheats for close to 8 minutes or so. 

Slice a potato and rub the hot griddle. You can invoke some Latin phrase here if you are superticious or really fear that Satan is making your pancakes stick. 

That’s it. I would say repeat as necessary, but because it is so easy and because it’s too late once you learn it is necessary, I will instruct, repeat after each batch. 

Now, this might work on medium heat. It might even work without the potato. But, all I know is that it works much better than the coconut oil I usually use. And it is a lot easier. Bonus: no more smoke-filled kitchen because the oil reached the smoke point and bits of pancake stuck and burned on the grill. 

Give it a try and leave a comment when you do. Let me know if you are as amazed as I am.  

p.s., stick that potato in the fridge when you are done. You can just slice off the dirty piece and continue using next week. 

p.p.s., that is our five-year old son asking  what I am doing and saying it is a funny way to use a potato. 

 

2 thoughts on “Non-Stick Pancake Trick. 

Leave a Reply

