This old dough…

Two weeks ago I made bread and took some of the dough for pizza. I made two pizzas but not the third. So the dough was smelling like beer and was way over-fermented. I thought I’d take a chance and use it in today’s bread.

At first, I thought I made a terrible mistake. The dough would not hold together and as I lifted it to stretch my hand went right through it. Such a large pocket of overdeveloped dough looked to be too much. 

But after the second turn (stretch and fold) it was holding together much better. And by the end of the third hour I knew it would be fine.  Or, I hoped so. 

It came out excellent. And, I avoided wasting an over-fermented dough ball. 

One thought on “This old dough…

Leave a Reply

